Hold On

The imagery of Roker Pier – a place important to my childhood and the setting of a twenty year recurring nightmare – morphs into the troubled fragments of my imagination and subconscious. The astonishing power of the sea has always been so terrifying beautiful – a duality that has pre-occupied me over and over again. The song began on a dreary afternoon. I was anxious, overwhelmed, very low and tired – starting to lose my breathe as a panic attack took a hold. A companion soothed me, saying among other things, ‘you want to live but you don’t know how’ – holding my hand, stroking my hair and helping me to breathe. The attack floated away and within an hour or so, I had written the song. The voice(s), however, largely work in the realm of my own inner conflicted personality across time.

*Click here to read the lyrics*

 Music, Artwork and Lyrics by iRate
FEMINIST ELECTRONIC MUSICIAN
irateirate.com
soundcloud.com/irate-doran
www.facebook.com/iRateiRate
twitter.com/iRateiRate
One thought on “Hold On

  1. Pingback: Hold On | iRate

Comments are closed.